Daniel Adebayo
2 min readJan 7, 2022

Illusion of Control

Earlier today I was in the sitting room trying to watch a movie on my phone, while my cousins and my baby sister were playing. I kept trying to caution them as I always do anytime they come around and are playing. It got to a point I just thought to myself 'Daniel, you can’t control everything these kids do. If you try to you would stress yourself out. Just let them be.'

And the truth is every time I have tried to control their actions, I always end up getting stressed. Today I realized it’s fine to let them be. They won’t get injured.

As humans, there’s always this tendency to want to have everything under control. We want some form of security, and we sometimes try to find this in people, our jobs, our relationships, or in our friends. Occasionally we want to control the way people act towards us by trying to control their actions. When you try to control the way people act towards you, it almost always ends up with you becoming a people pleaser. No one wants anyone to act badly towards them so you would always try to be in their good books.

The truth is we can’t control the way people act towards but we can of course control the way we react.

For anyone who has lost something dear to them, if you ask them they would tell you that if they had control over it they would have stopped it from happening or even try to bring it back. We as humans are limited.

This also applies to other areas of our lives. We can't control everything. We can't have everything under control.

The problem with trying to have our lives in control by ourselves is that we will get weary, and miss out on a lot of things. We don’t have that much power by ourselves.
God is the controller of all things, but he won’t interfere where he isn’t called into. He’s not an intruder. We can keep acting like we have everything under control when we don’t, or release everything to God and let Him be in control.

Daniel Adebayo

Writing for me as though for you. I hope that as you read, you see yourself in my work.